The fundamental mission of Nitartha Institute is to provide students with a systematic foundation in the central teachings of the Buddhist tradition, as presented by the Kagyü and Nyingma lineages of Tibet. Though the focus of our curriculum is the Kagyü and Nyingma understanding of the Dharma, the Institute upholds the importance of non-sectarianism and appreciation of the many forms of Buddhism and thus students of any background are welcome and encouraged to attend.



The curriculum is devoted to the in-depth study of the Buddhist view and to the contemplative practices through which students can engage these teachings and apply them to their experience. The curriculum is delivered by the Academic Affairs unit of Nitartha Institute through its four academic departments, which are based on the five traditional sciences taught at the historical Nālandā University of India:

Science of Valid Cognition
Science of Languages
Science of Healing
Science of Creative Arts
Inner Science of Mind

Accordingly, Nitartha Institute has four academic departments:

Department of Buddhist Studies (BUD), which covers both the Inner Science of Mind and the Science of Valid Cognition
Department of Languages (LAN)
Department of Healing (HEA)
Department of Creative Arts (SOCA)

The Buddhist path is traditionally described in terms of the three trainings: view, meditation, and conduct. All three elements mutually support each other, and all three are key elements of the Buddhist path. The Institute’s training focuses on the first two elements, view and practice, with the intent that these will subsequently strengthen right conduct.