SCIENCE OF MIND: Buddhist Studies (Shedra) Curriculum

The Nitartha Institute Buddhist Studies Curriculum presents the Hinayana, Mahayana, and Vajrayana view through a well-developed progressive series of courses designed as Foundation, Intermediate, and Advanced curriculum studies. Nitartha begins with the study of mind and its relation to objects. In essence, how do we know what we know, and how do we know if this knowledge is correct? These courses provide a foundational understanding of the terms and methods used to support analytical inquiry into how mind engages with its world. They build a well-developed ground on which the intermediate and advanced curricula are built.


Foundation Curriculum

Nitartha’s foundation level curriculum presents the views of foundational Buddhism, including Vaibhāśika and Sautrāntika philosophical systems.
Learn More…

Intermediate Curriculum

At the intermediate level, the Mahāyana philosophical systems of Cittamātra and Madhyamaka are explored in depth. The Tathāgatagarbha tradition and the exposition of the path to enlightenment are also introduced.
Learn More…

Advanced Curriculum

The advanced curriculum features in-depth study of primary texts selected from the Eight Main Treatises of Sūtra and Tantra of the Kagyu school and the Thirteen Core Indian Buddhist Treaties of the Nyingma school of Tibetan Buddhism.
Learn More…