Ancient Wisdom for the Modern Mind

At Nitartha Institute, students gain authentic experience in Buddhist studies by gradually progressing through the views of different Buddhist philosophical systems, as well as by training in analysis, debate and meditation. The Nitartha curriculum is offered online and in person through semester courses, the intensive Summer Institute, and Self-Paced Online Courses (SPOC). Nitartha also offers courses in Tibetan language and the Buddhist Science of Art.

Rooted in the traditions of the Kagyü and Nyingma lineages, Nitartha Institute courses are taught by highly renowned faculty: Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche, Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen, and several Western teachers including Dr. Karl Brunnhölzl, Scott Wellenbach, Dr. Phil Stanley, and many others. Attending Nitartha classes is an experience of precious moments of heart transmission between teacher and student.

Upcoming Semester Courses

  • BUD 502 Clear Thinking

    September 13, 2021–October 25, 2021

  • BUD 520 Mind & Its World III: Vaibhashika Philosophical Tradition

    September 26, 2021–December 19, 2021

  • BUD 554 Debate II

    September 13, 2021–December 13, 2021

  • BUD 610 Madhyamaka Philosophical Tradition: Not Even a Middle

    October 26, 2021–December 23, 2021

  • BUD 702 Madhyamakāvatāra III: Entrance to the Middle Way (Part I)

    August 28, 2021–November 13, 2021

  • LAN 501 Beginning Colloquial Tibetan

    September 14, 2021–December 16, 2021

  • LAN 511 Intermediate Colloquial Tibetan (Semester 2)

    September 13, 2021–December 15, 2021

  • LAN 520 Introduction to Tibetan Buddhist Literature

    September 24, 2021–December 17, 2021

  • LAN 531 Reading Tibetan Buddhist Literature (Semester 2)

    September 20, 2021–December 6, 2021

Nitartha Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and receive a free eBook by Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche
Analytical Meditation: Taming the Mind.



How To Look For The Self In The Skandhas
by Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche

If we find that our thoughts self originate within the five skandhas, then we should search through each of the five skandhas individually.

Latest Blog Posts